laketotal.blogg.se

My ancestors smile upon me
My ancestors smile upon me










They spoke to me of a time before the English language existed. They spoke to me of a time before the plague before the Medici before the guillotine a time before their people were extinguished or enslaved by dark forces. They spoke to me of a time before serfdoms and before Roman tithes. They sang to me of their life before the witch trials and before the crusades.

my ancestors smile upon me

This song was woven from the voices of my European grandmothers and grandfathers. It sang within me a song I can still hear today.

my ancestors smile upon me

That I’m cursed to have an Indian for a mother and a cowboy for a father.īut one day, as I sat in the ceremonial house of my mother’s people, a wondrous revelation landed delicately inside of my soul. I have been told my mixed blood is my bane. He has ancestry from the Great Sacred Motherland of Europe. I am keenly aware that my father’s people hold a venerable medicine as well. I spend a lot of time honoring and calling upon my Native American ancestors. Photo: Sami Indigenous Peoples of Norway, circa 1900 / Wikicommons The original title of this piece is: “The Story of How Humanity Fell in Love with Itself Once Again” May those of us who have directly inherited the legacy of European colonization – through our biological ancestry – be empowered to seek healing from the “genocide within”, and wake up to our true nature as children of this beautiful Earth … and may we do this for the benefit of all beings. May her story inspire our own, whatever our heritage may be. In the following essay, which Lyla has graciously allowed us to repost on White Awake, she shares her personal story of connecting with loving ancestors from ancient, “Indigenous Europe”. They estimate that 6-9 million women were raped, beaten, tortured, burned alive or drowned alive for being ‘witches.’ Let us reclaim our Earth Selves no matter what ‘race’ you are and do it soon! The earth may depend on it.” In the post that accompanies the video on FB, Lyla writes: “I want to acknowledge that some of the first Indigenous People’s that were forced into hiding were the medicine women of Old Europe.

my ancestors smile upon me

Her spoken word/musical recording, “ All Nations Rise“, has received almost 2 million views since posted on Facebook last fall. Lyla June, of Diné and European heritage, is an Indigenous water protector active in the struggle at Standing Rock.












My ancestors smile upon me